World Cup 2018: Golden Boot Winners

England’s Harry Kane took the lead in the World Cup 2018 Golden Boot race following a hat-trick against Panama. The Tottenham striker has been on fire for England notching five goals from two matches. The 1986 World Cup in Mexico was the last time an English striker won the coveted award. Kane has a great opportunity to win the trophy as England have qualified for the round of 16.

While Kane is in the running for the World Cup 2018 Golden Boot, which football players have won the award since the turn of the millennium?

2002 Japan/South Korea

The 2002 World Cup was a chance for Ronaldo to achieve redemption. Four years prior, the Brazilian ace was considered the top player in the world. He led Brazil to the World Cup final only to suffer a seizure on the day of the match. Despite being rushed to the hospital and being scratched from Brazil’s team sheet, Ronaldo still played. His performance wasn’t great and Brazil looked unable to do anything without him at max level.

Fast forward four years and Brazil were back in the final. This time the team won the World Cup trophy and Ronaldo scored eight goals along the way.

2006 Germany

Germany’s Miroslav Klose struck the back of the net five times in 2002. He finished the World Cup in Japan and South Korea as the second highest goal scorer. In Germany, he once again scored five times, which was twice more than Brazil’s Ronaldo. Klose took home the Golden Boot getting the best of Ronnie this time around.

2010 South Africa

The Golden Boot went to another German in 2010 when the World Cup debuted in Africa. This time it was Thomas Mueller who bagged the prize by scoring five goals. Mueller was incredibly unfancied to win the trophy at the start of the tournament, but his timely goal scoring led him to the honour.

2014 Brazil

Ahead of the 2014 World Cup few would have bet on Colombia’s James Rodriguez to leave Brazil with the Golden Boot. Yet, that is exactly what the attacking midfielder did. James struck six times as the Colombians made it to the quarterfinals. Who was the man who came second in 2014? Mueller, who scored five goals once more.

Register Now

Just fill out the form below to get started